South Kalimantan, Banjarmasin -Prince Arya, Gusti Juliana

Written by on July 10, 2012 in Kalimantan Dynasties with 0 Comments

Banjarmasin -Prince Arya, Gusti Juliana

This Prince isn’t selected officially as the future Sultan oBanjarmasin, Prince Arya, Gusti Julianaf Banjarmasin, but he is much on his way to become it. He is chief of the semi-religious historical institute; Yayasan Sulthan Adam (named after the last great Sultan of Banjarmasin (died 1857), who is also occupied with the general history of Banjarmasin.

This in 2005 41 years old chief of infrastructure section of Banjarmasin city is also in 2005 candidate to become the new Bupati of Banjarmasin district; with much relgious backing.The Yayasan also makes his own bi-monthly magazine,which concentrates on the religious character of Banjarmasin and also to historical things.
He also attended the 4th Indonesian National Royal Festival in Yogyakarta in september 2004. (Festival Keraton Nusantara IV). If he is elected as Bupati,then he will be the first important chief within a royal dynasty of Indonesia (whose rule was abolished before) to come back to rule as the main man in a part of Indonesia in modern time.

Probably all his ambitions will accumulate later in his installation as new Sultan of Banjarmasin. The woman on this picture is descended directly from Sultan Adam, She is descended from the brother of this Sultan.
Her son carries the semi-royal title of Andin; a title for a Prince/Princess of Banjarmasin (Gusti),who is married with a civil person (c.q.:Donald Tick from Vlaardingen/Holland, who is member of the Royal Court of Kupang/Timor).

Banjarmasin was before the largest Sultanate of present day Indonesian. Borneo/Kalimantan; having influence in the whole of East-Borneo via S.-Borneo until the half of West Borneo. In Kotawaringin in W.-Borneo ruled a branch of the dynasty and the so-called Tanah Bumbu statelets in SW-Borneo were also ruled by Banjarmasin princes.

1387 Banjarmasin state founded.
1905 State extinguished by Netherlands colonial government.

1786 – 1808 Tahmidullah II bin Muhammad Aminullah
1808 – 1825 Sulaiman Saidullah bin Tahmidullah
1825 – 1857 Adam bin Sulaiman Saidulla
al-Wathik Billah
1857 – 1859 Tamjidullah II bin Abdul Rahman
1859 – 1860 Hidayatullah III
1860 – 1905 Tamjidullah III bin Abdul Rahman

Tags: ,


If you enjoyed this article, subscribe now to receive more just like it.

Subscribe via RSS Feed

Leave a Reply