East Java, Madura Sumenep Palace

Written by on May 24, 2012 in Java Historical Building with 0 Comments

Madura Sumenep Palace


Madura is the largest island in East Java. With its bloody duel tradition called Carok, Maduranese is famous as a tribe with violence culture. Only few who know this society has a long history as somewhat more civilized society. This can be found in Sumenep Palace. In nineteenth century, Sumenep situated was the capital of the kingdom ruling all part of the island. Including its 76 islands, this easternmost regency on the island today covers an area of 2,094 square kilometers. Among Maduranese, Sumenep inhabitants is well known for being friendliest and well-mannered society due to their root. The local language, to those who understand, reflects different courtecy, somewhat of noble society or society living in a respectable social environment. Sumenep Palace is one of the most important evidents of the their history. Built in 1762, the Palace complex covered an area of 12 acres. It consists of three main buildings, Pendopo Agung, Kantor Koneng, and former Palace of Raden Ayu Tirto Negoro. Generally, the architecture shows a nice mixture between Javanese, Chinese, European, and Islamic styles. The result of the fusion is clearly seen from the shape of its primary columns, ornaments, and all the delicate carved decoration. //disbudparpora.sumenep.go.id) Labeng Mesem (http://disbudparpora.sumenep.go.id) The Palace of Raden Ayu Tirto Negoro consists of two floors. The ground floor has four rooms, each functioned as the King’s room, the Queen’s room, room for King’s parents, and room for Queen’s parents. The upper floor was the princess’ crib. A socio-historical research revealed that this Palace was built by two Chinese architects namely Lauw Piango and Ka Seng An. Lauw Piango’s burial site is situated in the mausoleum of Asta Tinggi, while Ka Seng An was given and finally burried in a piece of land now famous as Kasengan village. Among several gate of Sumenep Kingdom, the most famous is Labeng Mesem. The gate, which name litterally means gate of smile, is the main entrance of the Palace. Some myth said that the name was derived from a story about its King who always smiled when watching his wives taking a bath on the pond from a chamber on top of the gate. //disbudparpora.sumenep.go.id) Pendopo Agung (http://disbudparpora.sumenep.go.id) The story was probabbly a free interpretation of the existence of the pond not far from the gate inside the compound. The pond previously exclusive for king’s wives and daughters, along with the garden surrounding it, is called Taman Sare. This part once is situated to the east of Pendopo Agung Keraton, part of compound where the King’s throne was placed. Kantor Koneng no functions as one of three museums on the complex. Freely translated as yellow office, it is the yellow building in local architecture situated to the west side of the main structure. The other museums are Romah Panyepen, the building to the north, and the one in front of the main building that collects valuables such as a noble chart of Kereta Melor, meeting chairs and king’s bed. Outside the Palace gate, there are still plenty remnants showing its noble civilization. The Great Mosque built in 1779, Asta Tinggi and other mausoleums with decent burial structures, and a piece of thick, two meter tall masonry situated in front of the regent’s house are all showing different face of Madura.

Tags: , , ,


If you enjoyed this article, subscribe now to receive more just like it.

Subscribe via RSS Feed

Leave a Reply