Java Central Jepara Fort VOC Jepara

Written by on May 21, 2012 in Indonesia, West Indonesia Forts with 0 Comments

Java Central Jepara Fort VOC Jepara

http://www.bentengindonesia.org/benteng.php?id=394

When Commodore Roggervein (Campbell in Abbas, 2001:43) visited Jepara in 1722, he mentioned about a wooden fort on a hill. History sources from 1774-1775 mentioned that the fort was triangular and made of stone, in good conditions, and located on a hill; on each of the corners was a bastion; one bastion faced the sea while the two others faced inland. The fort was furnished with cannons, and watched by a sergeant, two corporals and 16 other men. (Stockdale, 2003:177) . It was not known when the fort was built but it is speculated that it had existed since the 17th. Century (Graaf inAbbas 2001.43). It is said that after VOC built its trade post in Jepara in 1651, they also built a fort on Danareja hill, after the hill was conquered by Speelman in 1677. Not long afterwards, Lieutenant Martinus van Ingen made a drawing, in which a for was planned to be built, large enough to house 100 Dutch soldiers under the command of a lieutenant. At the time, Jepara was under the the Javanese king, Ngabei Wangsadipa, who donated 5 cannons to VOC, in order to protect and defend the city. Some of the cannons were put on Danareja hill. (Olthof and Graaf in Abbas, 2001.144) The existence of the fort was also underlined by a passage in history about the army of Trunajaya who had several times tried to attack the fort but without success. A history source mentioned that the fort was built in1676 and used during the fight against Trunajaya rebellion, and was restored during the rebellion of Untung Surapati. (Soekiman in Abbas, 2001.44) The fort was abandoned in the beginning of the 18th century when VOC army was moved to the pentagonal fort of Semarang.

Tags: , ,

Subscribe

If you enjoyed this article, subscribe now to receive more just like it.

Subscribe via RSS Feed

Leave a Reply

Top