Central Java Sleman Candi Gebang

Written by on June 2, 2012 in Java Heritages with 0 Comments

Central Java Sleman Candi Gebang

Candi-Gebang-01

Gebang (Indonesian: Candi Gebang) is an 8th-century Hindu temple located on the outskirts of Yogyakarta, Indonesia. The temple is located at Gebang hamlet, Wedomartani village, Ngemplak, Sleman, Yogyakarta. The temple was built during the Medang Kingdom.

There is no assuring historical backgrounds or inscription records concerning the temple. However the high proportional of the temple feet indicate that the temple was built in old period of Medang Mataram kingdom, circa 730 to 800 CE.

Discovery

In November 1936, a villager discovered a Ganesha statue. The Art and Archaeological Services (Oudheid Dienst) led an excavation and discover that the Ganesha statue was the part of a small stone building. The archaeological excavation was conducted that year and discover a temple ruin, the andesite stones that parts of the roof and the base is appeared to be intact. Besides the parts of the building, the excavation also yielded some artifacts such as potteries, statuettes, stone box (peripih), and lingam. The temple is named “Gebang” as the name of the village. During its discovery, the temple wall and roof is collapsed, however the base was still intact. The temple ruin was buried under Mount Merapi volcanic lahar sediments. The temple was reconstructed by Van Romondt in 1937 to 1939.

Gebang temple is situated in a village called Gebang, belongs to the region of Condong Catur, Ngemplak sub-district, Sleman district, about 11 kilometres from the the centre of Yogyakarta.The discovering of this Temple as the result of the discovering Ganesha, the Hindu statue by the local people on November 1936. Starting from this discovering, the archeologists began to do the excavation for finding out possible temple at the site where the statue was found. It was assumed that the statue was the part of any construction nearby. Having come to definitive assumption concerning the existing of a temple at that location, the excavation was then run, continued by the reconstruction and renovation carried out in 1937 to 1939 under the responsibility of Van Romondt. Unfortunately, there is no information about the historical background of this Temple. However, the existence of Yoni and the statue of Ganesha give a definite inspiration that this temple belongs to Hindu. The high proportion of temple’s base indicates that the temple was built in 730 – 800 AD. The complex of this temple is 5.25 x 5.25 meter squares with 7.75 m of its height. The main materials of the building were andesite rocks. The body of the temple is standing on its foot at 2 meters in height. There is no sculpture at the foot of the Temple. The entrance gate into the temple is situated on the east. There are niches for the statues at right and left sides of the gate. There is the statue of Nandiswara at the north niche, while the south niche has no statue. It is assumed that the statue of Mahakala should posit this niche. At the western part (the back side), there is a niche with the statue of Ganesha sitting on a Yoni with its horn facing north. There is no ladder to step onto the open veranda of the temples’s foot. Anyhow there is some assumption that there should be ladders made of any easily brittle materials, such as wood, but there has no further information concerning the missing ladder. There is a room inside the temple. There is a Yoni and a Lingga in the middle of the room, but recently the lingga has gone. The roof the temple is orderly piled with the linggam style top standing on a lotus.

Tags: , , , ,

Subscribe

If you enjoyed this article, subscribe now to receive more just like it.

Subscribe via RSS Feed

Leave a Reply

Top